h1

Away and back

August 26, 2008

I have not been that contagious with my creativity in the past 6 months. My bad.

I’ve been quite busy with numerous things happening at the same time that i barely had time to scratch my head. My biggest accomplishment was finishing my 2 year masters program in one whopping year. In July I received my M.S. in Creativity and Change Leadership from the International Center for Studies in Creativity at the State University of New York – Buffalo College. At the same time I was working with United Way Toronto managing their youth leadership program (will write about it later on, keep reminding me). I also was lucky to have a 2 week vacation in Jordan. All that in addition to running a family with two children under the age of 5.

I know this is not an excuse, so it won’t be. I will be writing here more often about the wonders of creativity.

One of the things that stood in mind from my studies is the important and diverse role of the facilitator. I grew to appreciate this role in many ways. My teachers were an excellent example of accomplished facilitators and I also had the pleasure of working with different outsiders such as Blair Miller, Jonathan Vehar, and Russ Schoen. From them, I understood more about the role of this person who gets to direct the discussions in meetings and events.

The basic definition of the facilitator, as Bacal & Associates explain it is the individual “who’s job is to help to manage a process of information exchange. While and expert’s role is to offer advice, particularly about the content of a discussion, the facilitator’s role is to help with HOW the discussion is proceeding.

In short, the facilitator’s responsibility is to address the journey, rather than destination”.

In a way, the facilitator is greatly involved in the decision making process without really participating in it. That can be a very powerful tool if used rightly, can enhance the decision in the way the group arrived to it. But as in any other tool, if used wrongly, the facilitator can manipulate this journey and lead to a decision that will serve a particular group’s needs.

So what kind of sessions can the facilitator participate in?

Any session!

It doesn’t matter if it was creating a strategic plan or naming a product, communicating a vision or building an effective team. The right facilitator can make this experience a great success.

I will write more about this in the near future, for now, I’m late to work đŸ™‚

cheers

Leave a Reply

